The Joint Council of Queensland Teachers’ Associations Inc is a peak body for Queensland education professional associations, state based and national associations based in Queensland, providing a common voice on educational matters in the interests of teachers. JCQTA promotes collaboration between member associations and aims to grow our community whose interests are across preschool, primary, secondary, vocational and tertiary sectors. ...read more


Dr Janet Reynolds of HEIA(Q) is the recipient of the Dorothy Hoddinott Medal for Outstanding Lifetime Leadership. Dr Reynolds has been an outstanding advocate for her specialist area over many years and has taken on diverse roles in HEIA and contributd to State, National and International Conferences. It is fantastastic to have a Queensland representative take out this prestigious award.

Glenn Amezdroz (ACHPER QLD received theMeritorious Contribution to the Profession Award. He has spent many years supporting the work of Health and Physical Education teachers in all sectors and in primary, secondary and special school settings. He has done this through the sharing of professional knowledge, the production of resources and his contribution to Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation Queensland (ACHPERQLD), the professional association for teachers of Health and Physical Education.

Melanie Wild (ETAQ) has  been awarded the Early Career Teacher Award. She is in her fifth year of teaching. Already earning a Masters in Education Literacy, she has worked with leading academics across the Queensland University of Technology, the University of Queensland and the University of Southern Queensland in writing academic papers, marking student work and designing tertiary curriculum.



President's Message

As President I invite you to join the JCQTA for 2017. There are many challenges and opportunities facing professional teacher associations in areas of professional learning, curriculum implementation and funding for education. The JCQTA provides a voice to teachers through professional association representation at both state level and at a federal level through the Australian Professional Teachers’ Association (APTA). In meeting the challenges and grasping the opportunities it is important that we support one another and work collaboratively to achieve the best outcomes for Queensland students.

 Our two major events will be the Presidents’ Dinner on 15  February and the Ros Korkatsis Annual Forum in August. We will be conducting Board Meetings on 19 April, 21 June, and in October. In order to present a united voice on issues that affect us all we require a representative from all our member associations to attend these meetings.

I welcome you and look forward to working together to support the great work you do for your members.



President's Dinner  15 February

Meeting 19 April

Meeting 21 June 

Forum  August

18  October



APTA Adobe Connect Workshop

Date: 23 March 2017
Time: 7.30 pm - 8.30 pm AEDT

Prue Greene will present an introductory workshop for teaching associations members who would like to use Adobe Connect to run a professional learning event or a meeting. 

The session will provide participants the opportunity to learn about some basic features and to trial what they have learned during the session. 

This session will be presented using Adobe Connect. Participants will be forwarded a URL. You will need a computer and access to the internet.

Associations who are members of one of APTA's joint council members (COACTEA, CEASA, CPTAV, JCQTA, NEAT, PTANT, PTCNSW, PTCWA) will be able to:

  • participate in the workshop for free.
  • access APTA's Adobe Conect to run a meeting or activity for their association.

You will use Adobe Connect to particpate in the session.

Limited spaces available.

Please register for the event:  https://www.eventbrite.com/e/apta-adobe-connect-workshop-tickets-32811339600 


Dr Louise McCuaig, winner of the APTA 2014 Meritorious Contribution to the Profession Award with JCQTA President Caroline Brooks. The awards ceremony was held in Sydney on 30 November 2014.